Join soccerly to save and share the best soccer stories
Sign up with Facebook
By login in with Facebook you agree on the terms and conditions specified here

 
 
The Apertura 2014 season of the Liga MX is set to kick off on Friday July 18th. Here are you three must watch matches as well as the full week 1 schedule and U.S. TV listings.
Liga MX AP2014 Week 1: Must-watch matches & TV listings 
07/17/2014
 
Activación Voit

The Apertura 2014 season of the Liga MX is set to kick off on Friday July 18th. Here are you three must-watch matches as well as the full week 1 schedule and U.S. TV listings. 


Must Watch:

Cruz Azul vs Pachuca | Saturday July 19th 8:00pm ET / 5:00pm PT | Univision

Last season's runner-up finishers will head into Mexico City to visit the league table's top finishers Cruz Azul. Both are looking to continue and build off of last season's success and will want the three points. There will be no shortage of talented players on the field as Marco Fabian, Christian 'Chaco' Gimenez, and Mariano Pavone square off against long time Cruz Azul symbol Oscar "Conejo" Perez, and young Mexican breakouts Jürgen Damm and Hirving Lozano. Check out a full preview here.


Leon vs Club America | Saturday July 19th 9:00pm ET / 6:00pm PT | Telemundo 

A clash of trains as the reigning back-to-back champion starts its quest for a 'tri-campeonato' against the team they defeated to win their first of two consecutive championships.  This will be Club America's first chance to show off all of its new weapons acquired during the transfer window. Check out a full preview here.


Atlas vs Tigres UANL | Saturday July 19th 10:00pm ET / 7:00pm PT | Univision Deportes Network 

These two teams normally don't come up in "Must Watch" sections,  but now that the new Atlas owners (TV Azteca) have been able to pour some money into the squad and manager Tomas Boy has had an entire preseason to work the team, they should be able to put on a show. The always talented, yet underperforming Tigres could put up a big fight and make this match worth the while. Check out a full preview here.

Week 1 SCHEDULE:


Friday July  18th: 

Queretaro vs Pumas UNAM | 8:30pm EST | TV: Azteca America and ESPN Deportes 

Tijuana Xolos vs Puebla | 10:30pm EST | TV: Azteca America and ESPN Deportes 


Saturday July 19th: 

Cruz Azul  vs Pachuca | 6:00pm EST | Univision 

Veracruz vs Santos | 6:00pm EST | Univision Deportes Network 

Monterrey vs Leones Negros | 8:00pm EST | Univision Deportes Network 

Leon vs Club America | 9:00pm EST | Telemundo 

Atlas vs Tigres UANL | 10:00pm EST | Univision Deportes Network 


Sunday July 20th: 

Toluca vs Morelia | 1:00pm EST | Univision and Univision Deportes Network 

Chivas vs Chiapas FC | 6:00pm EST | Unimas and Univision Deportes Network 


 
3
   
More stories
 
6
   
 
1
   
 
0
   
 
2
   
 
2
   
 
1
   
 
1
   
 
1
   
 
0
   
 
1