Bayern Munich Lift Their 23rd Bundesliga Title

by Soccerly on Apr.06.2013
  1. Bayern Munich set the record for the earliest Bundesliga title win on Saturday when they were confirmed as German champions for the 23rd time with a 1-0 win at Eintracht Frankfurt.

    Germany star Bastian Schweinsteiger scored the decisive goal to give Bayern their 24th win from 28 league games this season and seal the first major silverware the Bavarian giants have won since May 2010.

    With Bayern facing Juventus on Wednesday in the Champions League quarter-final leading 2-0 from the first leg, the win came despite coach Jupp Heynckes resting several key players.

    Second-placed Borussia Dortmund --champions in each of the last two seasons - won 4-2 at home to Augsburg, but could not prevent Bayern from setting a Bundesliga record for the earliest confirmed title win.

    With six games left, they have an unsurmountable 20-point lead and have won their 22nd Bundesliga title.

    It is their 23rd national title overall, with the Munich club also winning the old-style German championship in 1932.

    Following a frantic start, Bayern defender David Alaba missed a 26th-minute penalty when he fired wide after Thomas Mueller was brought down in the area, but Schweinsteiger's second-half back-heel flick gave them three more points.

    With Bayern pushing forward, captain Philipp Lahm fired in a pass for his deputy to delicately flick a shot past Frankfurt goalkeeper Oka Nikolov with his heel on 52 minutes for the decisive goal.

    Victory at Eintracht Frankfurt on Saturday gave Munich their 23rd German league title after 28 matches and saw Bayern better their own record from 1972-73 and 2002-03, when they won the title with 30 out of 34 matches played.

    A Record Breaking Season

    This season they have already set the record for the most consecutive wins at the start of the season -- after winning their first eight matches -- and the fewest goals conceded after 21 matches.

    More records have either been broken or are set to follow, with Bayern having won the Bundesliga for the 22nd time since the modern national league started in 1963.

    Having accrued 75 points with six games left, they are on course to smash Dortmund's record of 81 points in a Bundesliga season, set just a year ago.

    Undefeated away from home in the league this season, they are set to equal their own record from the 1986-87 season, when they went through an entire Bundesliga campaign without losing on the road.

    With 13 wins on their travels, they have claimed the record for the most away wins and, having conceded just 13 goals all season, 'keeper Manuel Neuer is set to break Oliver Kahn's record of letting in just 21 goals in the 2007-08 season.

    Having secured their 24th win of the season at Frankfurt, Bayern are also just one short of the record tally, held by both Borussia Dortmund in 2011-12 and Bayern in 1972-73, of 25 wins in a season.

    Helped by their 9-2 hammering of Hamburg at home last Saturday, they boast a goal difference of 66, two better than the 64 set by Gerd Mueller's Bayern in the 1972-73 season.

    With 79 goals to their credit, they are still some way short of the 101 goals scored by Mueller's Bayern in 1971-72.

    But the biggest record of all is the one Bayern covet most: to become the first German team to win the treble of Champions League, domestic league and cup.

    They head to Turin on Wednesday for the Champions League quarter-final, second leg against Juventus, with a 2-0 goal lead after Tuesday's first leg in Munich.

    Factfile on Bayern Munich after they were confirmed Bundesliga champions for the 2012-13 season on Saturday:

    Full-name: Fussball-Club Bayern Muenchen eV

    Founded: February 27 1900

    Ground: Allianz Arena (capacity 71,137)

    Nicknames: Der FCB, Stern des Suedens (Star of the South), Die Bayern (The Bavarians)

    President: Uli Hoeness

    Chairman: Karl-Heinz Rummenigge

    Coach: Jupp Heynckes


    Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer, Tom Starke, Maximilian Riedmueller, Lukas Raeder

    Defenders: Dante (BRA), Daniel van Buyten (BEL), Rafinha (BRA), Jerome Boateng, Philipp Lahm, Diego Contento, David Alaba (AUT), Holger Badstuber, Luiz Gustavo

    Midfielder: Franck Ribery (FRA), Javi Martinez (ESP), Arjen Robben (NED), Xherdan Shaqiri (SUI), Bastian Schweinsteiger, Emre Can, Toni Kroos, Anatoliy Tymoshchuk (UKR)

    Forwards: Mario Mandzukic (CRO), Claudio Pizarro (PER), Patrick Weihrauch, Thomas Mueller, Mario Gomez

    Trophies won:

    German league champions 23 times (record): 1931-32, 1968-69, 1971-72, 1972-73, 1973-74, 1979-80, 1980-81, 1984-85, 1985-86, 1986-87, 1988-89, 1989-90, 1993-94, 1996-97, 1998-99, 1999-2000, 2000-01, 2002-03, 2004-05, 2005-06, 2007-08, 2009-10, 2012-2013

    German Cup winners 15 times (record): 1957, 1966, 1967, 1969, 1971, 1982, 1984, 1986, 1998, 2000, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2010

    European Cup/Champions League winners four times: 1974, 1975, 1976, 2001

    European Cup Winners' Cup winners: 1967

    Europa League/UEFA Cup winners: 1996

    German League Cup winners six times (record): 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2004, 2007

    German Super Cup winners five times (record): 1982, 1987, 1990, 2010, 2012

* Should you think there is copyright infringement in this content, please email us at: